Neighborhood Associations

I have been thinking a lot about regional government and getting things done for our local areas – well – locally, instead of going through federal and state programs. Meeting LVEJO in Chicago really inspired me – they were so active in getting their neighborhood clean and beautiful and what they did really worked. It’s different in Chicago…they have Aldermans. Aldermen? I don’t know.

Anyway, I got to thinking about my neighborhood, Alger Heights, and how the planters on Eastern and Alger are mostly empty. That little strip has roughly 20 businesses operating along the 400 foot stretch, but its streetscape is nothing to look at.

Then it dawned on me. With some simple Googling, I found the Alger Heights Neighborhood Association. They have community meetings on the second Tuesday of every month at 7:00 pm. Duh. Why didn’t this hit me before? I should totally be participating in this. I’ve been preaching local action for six months and I have yet to attend a neighborhood meeting, which my mom has probably told me about, too.

It takes me awhile to catch on to things.

Leave a Reply

